The History of the Dallas Cowboys

America’s Team, the Dallas Cowboys, have a long, impressive history. If you are familiar with that history, you know that it is not always pretty. However, it is certainly exciting! And the present is just as good. The Cowboys were the first modern-era expansion team.


The Dallas Cowboys got their first shot at professional football on Jan 28,1960, when Dallas Texas was finally granted a NFL franchise. They were previously known as the Dallas Steers and the Dallas Rangers. The decision to name the team the Dallas Cowboys was announced on March 19,1960. The team would be official after the 1960 college draft.


The Cowboys won their first season with a 10-3-1 record. They also sent 8 plays to the Pro Bowl. They missed their shot at the Super Bowl because of a 28 second stop by the Green Bay Packers with a 16-13 score.


Ground was broken on a new stadium to replace the Cotton Bowl.


The Cowboys got made their first Super Bowl appearance after a 10-4 season. During the playoffs, the Cowboys beat Detroit with a 5-0 score. For the record, this was the lowest scoring playoff game in NFl history! They went on to lose to the Baltimore Colts with a score of 16-13. Despite losing, linebacker Chuck Howley made history by being the first Super Bowl MVP that wasn’t from the winning team. Hard work is hard work, no matter win or lose!


The new Cowboys stadium was completed and became the Texas Stadium. The Cowboys dominated Super Bowl VI, beating the Miami Dolphins 24 to 3. They didn’t even let the Dolphins make a touchdown! Roger Staubach was named the Super Bowl MVP. He broke a then Cowboys record of 252 yards worth of rushing.


The Ring of Honor began on November 23. The ring around the new Texas Stadium honored former players, coaches and club officials for their outstanding contributions to the Dallas Cowboys franchise. As of January 2017, the Cowboys Ring of Honor Includes: Troy Aikman, Larry Allen, Tony Dorsett, Charles Haley, Cliff Harris, Bob Hayes, Chuck Howley, Michael Irvin, Lee Roy Jordan, Tom Landry, Bob Lilly, Don Meredith, Drew Pearson, Don Perkins, Mel Renfro, Tex Schramm, Emmitt Smith, Roger Staubach, Randy White, and Rayfield Wright.


The Cowboys got their second Super Bowl win. Randy White and Harvey Martin were named co-Super Bowl MVPs. They are the first and only multiple players to receive this award. The Cowboys went on to dominate throughout the end of the 70’s and 80’s. They were the first and only NFL team to have 20 consecutive winning seasons. This streak went from 1966 to 1986.


The Dallas Cowboys Head coach, Jimmy Johnson, was named coach of the year.


The Cowboys went onto to have their third Super Bowl victory.


The Cowboys had their 4th Super Bowl victory.


The Dallas Cowboy’s “3-Peat” hopes were unrealized because of their NFC championship game loss to the San Francisco 49ers.


The Cowboys went onto win Super Bowl XXX. They had league’s highest rusher that year, Emmitt Smith.


The 2000s were a big decade for the Cowboys! They hosted some breaking players on their team.

  • Most Career Passing Yards: Troy Aikman, 32,942 yards (1989-2000)
  • Most Career Receptions: Jason Witten, 943 receptions (2003-2014)
  • All-Time Leading Scorer: Emmitt Smith, 986 points (1990-2002)


Ground was broken on the now AT&T Stadium.


The Dallas Cowboys were the first NFL team to send at least 13 players to the Pro Bowl!


The AT&T stadium opens. Once estimated to cost $650 million in construction, the final costs came to 1.5 billion dollars! Since then it has been used to host NBA all-star weekend, some of the world’s biggest entertainers and more.


The Dallas Cowboys tie a league record for the most Super Bowl appearances with a total of eight. They are also tie with the San Francisco 49ers for second place for most Super Bowl wins with five wins under their belt.

25th January 2017